Über Geist

Screenshot 20210507 153806 com android chrome crop

At glance, Paul Sochacki’s (*1983) paintings move between abstraction and romanticism: a lion slobbers ice cream in front of a giant globe, a group of mice line up in front of a piece of cheese filled with holes, a white swan on a black lake, its head disappearing in fog. This Berlin-based artist’s visual language throws us back into the world of childhood complete with all its myths, fabulous creatures and phantasms. At the same time the poetry and humour of these familiar motifs coax us towards complex readings. Once we immerse ourselves in his stories, we also begin to recognise connections with real situations and their social contexts. Behind the innocuous surface, complexities and manifold problems open up: although his pictures may sometimes appear childish and fairy tale-like, they often represent a sharp reflection of social conditions that also concern Sochacki as a co-editor of the street magazine Arts of the Working Class.

Paul Sochacki’s contribution to the Ruhr Ding: Klima not only combines painting and digitisation, it also links together the different exhibition venues: via augmented reality his ghosts at the Silbersee also appear at information points and cycle stations of the Ruhr Ding: Klima at the railway stations in Gelsenkirchen, Herne, Recklinghausen and Haltern-Sythen. Using a smartphone or tablet, they can be summoned to the various locations simply by scanning a QR-code. The web-based application uses your device’s camera to make the ghost appear in your surroundings.

Specifically, we see the superego of the imperial eagle that continues to haunt Germany. At Paul Sochacki’s request, the apparition animated by the Łódź-based 3D artist Alek Sarna manifests itself in short poems that vary from location to location, reflecting the current social climate, and are accompanied by organ music by Michael Leyk.


Link

The ghost appears after accessing the webapp with the smartphone near the locations mentioned below.


Hours


Address

Gelsenkirchen Hauptbahnhof
Bahnhofsvorplatz
45879 Gelsenkirchen

Herne Bahnhof
Konrad-Adenauer-Platz 1
44629 Herne

Recklinghausen Hauptbahnhof
Große-Perdekamp-Straße 2
45657 Recklinghausen

Bahnhof Haltern-Sythen
Thiestraße 28
45721 Haltern am See

Paul Sochacki c Daria Khadzhieva jpg Künstler*in ©

Paul Sochacki

At glance, Paul Sochacki's painting moves between abstraction and romanticism, in which familiar motifs seduce with poetry and humor to complex readings.

Über-Geist

Geist Paul Sochacki Silbersee II

Auf den ersten Blick bewegt sich die Malerei Paul Sochackis (*1983) zwischen Abstraktion und Romantik: ein Eiscreme schlabbernder Löwe vor einer riesigen Weltkugel, eine Gruppe Mäuse, die vor einem löchrigen Stück Käse Spalier stehen, ein weißer Schwan auf schwarzer See, dessen Kopf im Nebel verschwindet. Die Bildsprache des Berliner Künstlers wirft uns zurück in die Welt der Kindheit mitsamt all ihrer Mythen, Fabelwesen und Phantasmen. Gleichsam verführen die vertrauten Motive mit Poesie und Humor zu komplexeren Lesarten. Tauchen wir in seine Geschichten ein, dann beginnen wir, Zusammenhänge mit realen Situationen und ihren sozialen Kontexten zu erkennen. Hinter dem Schleier der Harmlosigkeit eröffnen sich Komplexitäten und vielschichtige Probleme: Obwohl seine Bilder manchmal kindlich und märchenhaft erscheinen, stellen sie oft eine scharfe Reflexion sozialer Verhältnisse dar, die Sochacki auch als Mitherausgeber des Straßenmagazins Arts of the Working Class beschäftigen.

Beim Ruhr Ding: Klima verbindet Paul Sochacki mit seinem Beitrag nicht nur Malerei und Digitalisierung, sondern verknüpft auch die verschiedenen Ausstellungsorte miteinander: Via Augmented Reality treten seine Geister am Silbersee sowie an den Infopoints und Radstationen des Ruhr Ding: Klima an den Bahnhöfen in Gelsenkirchen, Herne, Recklinghausen und Haltern-Sythen in Erscheinung. Via Smartphone oder Tablet können sie über den einfachen Scan eines QR-Codes an den unterschiedlichen Orten aufgerufen werden. Die webbasierte Anwendung greift dabei auf die Kamera der Geräte zu und lässt die Geister in der Umgebung erscheinen.

Konkret bekommen wir es hier mit dem Über-Ich des Reichsadlers zu tun, der immer noch durch Deutschland spukt. Auf Wunsch von Paul Sochacki reflektiert die von der in Łódź lebenden 3D-Künstlerin Alek Sarna animierte Erscheinung dabei in kurzen und von Ort zu Ort unterschiedlichen Gedichten das gegenwärtige gesellschaftliche Klima. Und dazu: Orgelmusik von Michael Leyk.


Link

Der Geist erscheint nach Aufrufen der Webapp mit dem Smartphone in der Nähe der unten stehenden Standorte.


Adresse

Gelsenkirchen Hauptbahnhof
Bahnhofsvorplatz
45879 Gelsenkirchen

Herne Bahnhof
Konrad-Adenauer-Platz 1
44629 Herne

Recklinghausen Hauptbahnhof
Große-Perdekamp-Straße 2
45657 Recklinghausen

Bahnhof Haltern-Sythen
Thiestraße 28
45721 Haltern am See

Paul Sochacki c Daria Khadzhieva jpg Künstler*in ©

Paul Sochacki

Die Malerei von Paul Sochacki bewegt sich auf den ersten Blick zwischen Abstraktion und Romantik, in denen vertraute Motive mit Poesie und Humor zu komplexen Lesarten verführen.