Clouded in Veins

C2 Mariechen Danz

Communication and the transfer of knowledge form the starting point for this work by Mariechen Danz (*1980). Here the Irish-born artist places the body at the centre of her process-based practice. Through her sculptures, drawings, costumes and performances she examines potential means of expression, but also the limitations of language, the ability to decode signs and their hierarchical systems. Time after time her artistic discourse revolves around the subjectivity of all human understanding, replacing one-dimensional models of explanation with empathy and curiosity. Mariechen Danz uses decolonial approaches to challenge Eurocentric views of history and concepts of value, deliberately scrambling the categories that we largely use to order and control our world. As a consequence, established boundaries evaporate and give way to an ongoing learning process.

In her exhibition Clouded in Veins, Mariechen Danz uses a stage-like approach to display her works throughout the Kunsthalle Recklinghausen. She both transforms and opens the architecture of the building and enables the public to be actively involved. This instigation of communication and dialogue appears highly topical in the light of populist power strategies and the threatened disappearance of social empathy.

The exhibition is part of this year’s programme by the Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen. Together with Kerstin Brätsch, Mariechen Danz will also present another work, Clouded in Vain, as part of Ruhr Ding: Klima at Silbersee II in Haltern.

An exhibition in co-operation with Kunsthalle Recklinghausen and Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen, curated by Hans-Jürgen Schwalm.


Information

Due to the ongoing pandemic and the current COVID-19 regulations all art sites will remain temporarily closed. We will inform here and via all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

For the exhibition Clouded in Veins by Mariechen Danz at the Kunsthalle Recklinghausen, the museum charges an entrance fee.

Regular:

5 €

Reduced:

2,50 €

Children under 14 years:

free

Saturdays:

Pay-what-you-want


Hours

Temporarily closed.


Address

Kunsthalle Recklinghausen
Große-Perdekamp-Straße 25-27
45657 Recklinghausen

Portrait danz photo by ayami awazuhara Künstler*in ©

Mariechen Danz

The points of departure for her work are communication and knowledge transfer, with the Irish artist focusing her process-based artistic practice on the body.

Clouded in Veins

C2 Mariechen Danz Clouded in Veins

Kommunikation und Wissenstransfer sind Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit von Mariechen Danz (*1980). Dabei stellt die in Irland geborene Künstlerin den Körper in das Zentrum ihrer prozessbasierten Praxis. Mit ihren Skulpturen, Zeichnungen, Kostümen und Performances untersucht sie die Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten, aber auch die Begrenztheit der Sprache, die Lesbarkeit von Zeichen und deren hierarchische Systeme. Immer wieder kreist ihr künstlerischer Diskurs um die Subjektivität allen menschlichen Verstehens und setzt Empathie und Neugier an die Stelle eindimensionaler Erklärungsmodelle. Mit dekolonialen Ansätzen rüttelt Mariechen Danz dabei an eurozentrischen Geschichtsbildern und Wertvorstellungen und bringt jene Schubladen wieder durcheinander, mit Hilfe derer wir unsere Welt maßgebend ordnen und beherrschen. So verflüchtigen sich feste Grenzziehungen und weichen einem dauernden Lernprozess.

In ihrer Ausstellung Clouded in Veins inszeniert Mariechen Danz ihre Arbeiten bühnenhaft in den Räumen der Kunsthalle Recklinghausen. Sie verwandelt und öffnet gleichzeitig die Architektur des Hauses und bezieht das Publikum aktiv ein. Diese Anstiftung zu Kommunikation und Dialog erscheint angesichts populistischer Machtstrategien und zu verschwinden drohender gesellschaftlicher Empathie höchst aktuell.

Die Ausstellung ist Teil des diesjährigen Programms der Ruhrfestspiele Recklinghausen. Gemeinsam mit Kerstin Brätsch zeigt Mariechen Danz zum Ruhr Ding: Klima am Silbersee II in Haltern mit Clouded in Vain parallel eine weitere Arbeit.

Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit der Kunsthalle Recklinghausen und den Ruhrfestspielen Recklinghausen, kuratiert von Hans-Jürgen Schwalm.


Information

Aufgrund der anhaltenden pandemischen Lage und der aktuell geltenden Corona-Schutzverordnung können die Kunststandorte des Ruhr Ding: Klima nicht wie geplant eröffnen. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Für die Ausstellung Clouded in Veins von Mariechen Danz in der Kunsthalle Recklinghausen fallen von Seiten des Museums Eintrittsgebühren an.

Regulär:

5 €

Ermäßigt:

2,50 €

Kinder unter 14 Jahren:

frei

Samstags:

Pay-what-you-want


Öffnungszeiten

Temporär geschlossen.


Adresse

Kunsthalle Recklinghausen
Große-Perdekamp-Straße 25-27
45657 Recklinghausen

Mariechen Danz Künstler*in ©

Mariechen Danz

Mit ihren Skulpturen, Zeichnungen, Kostümen und Performances untersucht Danz die Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten und Begrenztheit der Sprache sowie die Lesbarkeit von Zeichen und deren hierarchische Systeme.