Discuvry

UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2923
UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1094
UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2828

Confronted with the harsh reality of the Berlin property market and in keeping with their philosophy that art and life are indivisible, the Japanese media artist Yukihiro Taguchi (*1980) and Italian architect Chiara Ciccarello (*1986) created their own housing on waste land near Cuvrystraße on the banks of the Spree in Kreuzberg. Half shelter, half architectural installation made from recycled materials, it provided the freelance artists with a place to live and work for eighteen months.

Their initial action also set off a chain reaction: soon it was joined by other self-built houses and a multi-cultural community grew on site with over a hundred inhabitants. In 2014 the illegal housing complex was cleared by the police. However, it was possible to save Taguchi and Ciccarello’s house and since then it has been exhibited as an artwork entitled Discuvry in a series of international exhibitions. In each new location it encounters a different social environment from which it consistently reinvents its form and function. And every place that welcomes the house writes its way into the project’s history.

After visits to Denmark and Japan, Discuvry will set up its tents as part of the Ruhr Ding: Klima beside Silbersee II. Here the original construction will be extended with further elements and a platform on the lake.


Information

In the wake of the ongoing pandemic, access to the Silbersee II and the Ruhr Ding: Klima artworks located there is not possible at this time. We will inform here as well as on all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Tickets

For the visit of the Ruhr Ding: Klima the booking of a free day ticket is necessary in advance. The booking is valid on the selected date for the visit of all exhibition venues.



Entry

At the Silbersee II entrance fees are charged during the bathing season by our cooperation partner, the operating company Silbersee II Haltern am See mbH.

Regular:

4,00 €

Children under 3 years:

free

Parking fee:

4,00 €


Hours

Currently closed


Address

Silbersee II
Zum Vogelsberg
45721 Haltern am See


Journey

From Haltern-Sythen railway station it is about 15 minutes by bike to Silbersee II. By public transport, the lake can be reached by bus 273E. There are two car parks at Silbersee II, from both of which the artworks are within easy walking distance. There is an information point at the car park near Café Treibsand.

Yuki Chiara c Ayumi Ikeda Künstler*in ©

Yukihiro Taguchi & Chiara Ciccarello

The collaboration between the Japanese media artist Yukihiro Taguchi and the Italian designer Chiara Ciccarello goes back to their activities in Berlin’s fallow Cuvry.

Discuvry

Silbersee Discuvry c Daniel Sadrowski 2923
Silbersee Discuvry c Daniel Sadrowski 1094
Silbersee Assembly c Daniel Sadrowski 2828

Konfrontiert mit der harten Realität des Berliner Immobilienmarktes schufen der japanische Medienkünstler Yukihiro Taguchi (*1980) und die italienische Architektin Chiara Ciccarello (*1986) — ganz im Sinne ihrer Philosophie der Untrennbarkeit von Kunst und Leben — auf einer Brache an der Cuvrystraße am Kreuzberger Spreeufer mit einfachen Mitteln eine eigene Behausung: Halb Hütte, halb architektonische Installation aus recycelten Materialien diente sie dem freischaffenden Künstler*innenpaar eineinhalb Jahre als Wohn- und Wirkstätte.

Ihre Aktion löste eine Kettenreaktion aus: Bald gesellten sich weitere selbstgebaute Häuser hinzu, so dass vor Ort eine multikulturelle Gemeinschaft mit über hundert Einwohner* innen entstand. 2014 wurde die illegale Wohnsiedlung von der Polizei geräumt. Das Haus von Taguchi und Ciccarello konnte jedoch gerettet werden und wandert seitdem unter dem Titel Discuvry als Kunstobjekt zu verschiedenen internationalen Ausstellungen. Dabei trifft es vor Ort jedes Mal auf andere soziale Umgebungen und entwickelt daraus seine Form und Funktion immer wieder neu. Nicht zuletzt schreibt sich jeder Ort, der das Haus beherbergt, in die Geschichte des Projekts mit ein. Nach Stationen in Dänemark und Japan schlägt Discuvry zum Ruhr Ding: Klima seine Zelte am Silbersee II auf. Dabei wird die ursprüngliche Konstruktion um weitere Elemente und eine Plattform auf dem Wasser erweitert.


Information

Der Zugang zum Silbersee II und den dort beheimateten Kunstwerken des Ruhr Ding: Klima ist im Zuge der geltenden Coronaschutzverordnung derzeit leider nicht möglich. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Tickets

Für den Besuch des Ruhr Ding: Klima ist vorab online die Buchung eines kostenlosen Tagestickets notwendig. Die Buchung gilt am gewählten Datum für den Besuch aller Ausstellungsorte.

An den Standorten Heimatmuseum Unser Fritz, Kunsthalle Recklinghausen sowie am Silbersee II erfolgt die Anmeldung direkt über unsere Kooperationspartner*innen.


Eintritt

Am Silbersee II fallen von Seiten unseres Kooperationspartners, der Betreibergesellschaft Silbersee II Haltern am See mbH, während der Badesaison Eintrittsgebühren an.

Regulär:

4,00 €

Kinder unter 3 Jahren:

frei

Parkplatzgebühr:

4,00 €


Öffnungszeiten

Aktuell geschlossen


Adresse

Silbersee II
Zum Vogelsberg
45721 Haltern am See


Anfahrt

Vom Bahnhof Haltern-Sythen sind es rund 15 Minuten mit dem Rad zum Silbersee II. Mit ÖPNV ist der See mit dem Bus 273E zu erreichen. Am Silbersee II sind zwei Parkplätze vorhanden, von beiden sind die Kunstwerke fußläufig gut zu erreichen. Am Parkplatz nahe des Café Treibsand befindet sich ein Infopoint zum Ruhr Ding: Klima.

Yuki Chiara Künstler*in ©

Yukihiro Taguchi & Chiara Ciccarello

Die Zusammenarbeit des japanischen Medienkünstlers Yukihiro Taguchi mit der italienischen Designerin Chiara Ciccarello geht zurück auf ihre Aktivitäten in der Berliner Cuvry-Brache.