Family Business

UKR Ruhrding Herne Silke Sch nfeld 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1630
UKR Ruhrding Herne Silke Sch nfeld 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1556
UKR Ruhrding Herne Silke Sch nfeld 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1516
B2 Silke Schönfeld c Silke Schönfeld

Plants small and large can be glimpsed through the large display windows of the 140m² shop premises at Bahnhofstraße 82a in Herne. From the outside, one can only guess that the furniture of the former McDonald’s outlet remains almost unchanged since 2011. In the stories of Silke Schönfeld’s (*1988) multi-part video installation Family Business personal recollections merge with collective remembrance.

After the first European outlet opened its doors in Amsterdam in 1971, the Ruhr Area was quick to follow: the Vossen family from Herne gave up their traditional business Spezialhaus Berns—Haus der Geschenke in Herne’s pedestrian zone and in its place opened the Ruhr Area’s first McDonald’s in the summer of 1976. The hopes and expectations that were raised by entering the franchise business during the 1970s are contrasted in Silke Schönfeld’s film installation with the shop’s present-day reality. Family Business portrays how the place has evolved from a household goods store to a fast food restaurant and its temporary function as a rehearsal room for bands. In three film chapters, the history of this site and its protagonists is interwoven with broader themes that continue to exert a marked influence on the region: from structural change and the changing concept of work to the future of our inner cities and what culture means for the Ruhr Area. Here the history of a retail shop unit exemplifies the idea of the Americanisation of post-war West German society and, not least, the social atmosphere of the period around the millennium and the changing social ideas of consumerism, food culture and leisure.


Information

Due to the ongoing pandemic and the current COVID-19 regulations all art sites will remain temporarily closed. We will inform here and via all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

Admission is free.


Hours

Temporarily closed.


Address

Ehemalige McDonald's Filiale
Bahnhofstraße 82a
44623 Herne

Silke Schönfeld 2020 kl Künstler*in ©

Silke Schönfeld

In her films, which range between documentation and fiction to varying degrees, Silke Schönfeld brings different people into focus, be it individual protagonists or social groups.

Family Business

UKR Ruhrding Herne Silke Sch nfeld 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 1630
Family Business c Daniel Sadrowski 1556
Family Business c Daniel Sadrowski 1516
B2 Silke Schönfeld Family Business

Kleine und große Pflanzen lassen sich durch die großen Fensterscheiben des rund 140m² großen Ladenlokals in der Bahnhofstraße 82a in Herne erblicken. Von außen lässt sich nur erahnen, dass das Mobiliar der ehemaligen McDonald’s Filiale seit 2011 fast unverändert geblieben ist. In den Erzählungen der mehrteiligen Videoinstallation Family Business von Silke Schönfeld (*1988) verschmelzen private Erinnerungen und kollektives Gedächtnis miteinander.

Nachdem 1971 in Amsterdam die erste Filiale in Europa ihre Pforten öffnete, folgte bald auch das Ruhrgebiet: Die Herner Familie Vossen gab das eigene Traditionsgeschäft Spezialhaus Berns—Haus der Geschenke in der Herner Fußgängerzone auf und eröffnete im Sommer 1976 vor Ort den ersten McDonald’s des Ruhrgebiets. Erwartungen und Hoffnungen, die mit dem Einstieg in das Franchise-Geschäft in den 1970erJahren verbunden waren, werden in der Filminstallation von Silke Schönfeld durch die heutige Realität des Ladenlokals kontrastiert. Family Business zeichnet dabei die Entwicklung des Ortes nach—vom Haushaltswarenladen zum Schnellrestaurant und zu seiner zeitweiligen Nutzung als Bandproberaum. In drei filmischen Kapiteln werden die Geschichten des Ortes und seiner Protagonist*innen mit übergreifenden Themen verwoben, die die Region nach wie vor stark prägen: vom Strukturwandel und sich verändernden Arbeitsbegriff über die Zukunft der Innenstädte bis hin zu der Bedeutung von Kultur für das Ruhrgebiet. Die Historie des Ladenlokals steht dabei exemplarisch für die Idee der Amerikanisierung der westdeutschen Nachkriegsgesellschaft und nicht zuletzt für das soziale Klima der Zeit um die Jahrtausendwende und den sich wandelnden gesellschaftlichen Vorstellungen von Konsum, Esskultur und Freizeitgestaltung.


Information

Aufgrund der anhaltenden pandemischen Lage und der aktuell geltenden Corona-Schutzverordnung können die Kunststandorte des Ruhr Ding: Klima nicht wie geplant eröffnen. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Der Eintritt ist frei.


Öffnungszeiten

Temporär geschlossen.


Adresse

Ehemalige McDonald's Filiale
Bahnhofstraße 82a
44623 Herne

Silke Schönfeld Künstler*in ©

Silke Schönfeld

In ihren filmischen Arbeiten, die sich in jeweils unterschiedlicher Gewichtung zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion bewegen, fokussiert Schönfeld individuelle Protagonist*innen oder soziale Gruppen.