The Futurology Kiosk

HQ21 MC13821 P detail 1 high quality

While many people found them spooky due to their Dracula-like nature even before COVID-19, the pandemic has affected the reputation of these little animals even further: bats were suspected of being the source of the new virus and their bodies also contain numerous other dangerous pathogens. From a social and ecological perspective bats are model creatures from which humans can learn a great deal. This fact provides the starting point for Monster Chetwynd’s (* 1973) sculptural installation in several parts The Futurology Kiosk. These mammals not only look after their few young with great care, but they also live symbiotically with fireflies and algae that provide them with light and nutrients. In addition, they play an important role in the ecosystem: they use up hardly any resources and over 500 species of plants rely on bats to pollenate their flowers. And their super-immunity ensures that the many pathogens and viruses that they carry inside them cannot harm them.

The British artist has enabled a colony of bats to settle in the former kiosk at Recklinghausen main station. A protest scene develops that—like a tableau vivant—appears to be frozen in mid-action. With outstretched wings, the bats look down from the roof of the kiosk and greet visitors. These human-sized creatures command the space with confidence and, in a gesture of self-empowerment, draw attention to their sustainable and future-proof qualities with a big banner.

As early as 2003, Monster Chetwynd began Bat Opera, an ongoing series of paintings, in which she explored the animals’ contradictory qualities. For the installation in the kiosk the artist has worked almost exclusively with recyclable materials.


Information

Due to the ongoing pandemic and the current COVID-19 regulations all art sites will remain temporarily closed. We will inform here and via all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

Admission is free.


Hours

Temporarily closed.


Address

Ehemaliger Kiosk am Hauptbahnhof
Dortmunder Straße 2
45657 Recklinghausen

Portrait Monster Chetwynd Künstler*in ©

Monster Chetwynd

Monster Chetwynd stages performances and plays featuring handcrafted, phantasmal costumes and stage sets. Her sculptural works appear to have arisen from mystical stories or science-fiction comics.

The Futurology Kiosk

The Futurology Kiosk Monster Chetwynd c Daniel Sadrowski 6751

Während sie bereits vor Corona durch ihr draculahaftes Wesen als unheimlich empfunden wurden, hat die Pandemie den Ruf der kleinen Tiere weiter in Mitleidenschaft gezogen: Fledermäuse werden als Ursprung des neuen Virus’ vermutet und tragen daneben zahlreiche andere gefährliche Erreger in sich. Dass Fledermäuse in sozialer und ökologischer Hinsicht jedoch vorbildhafte Wesen sind, von denen der Mensch viel lernen kann, ist der Ausgangspunkt für Monster Chetwynds (*1973) mehrteilige skulpturale Installation The Futurology Kiosk. Die Säugetiere kümmern sich nicht nur intensiv um ihre wenigen Nachkommen, sondern leben auch in Symbiose mit Leuchtkäfern und Algen, die ihnen Licht und Nahrung liefern. Außerdem kommt ihnen eine wichtige Rolle im Ökosystem zu: Sie verbrauchen kaum Ressourcen und fungieren als Bestäuber für über 500 Pflanzenarten. Nicht zuletzt sorgt ihre Superimmunität dafür, dass ihnen die vielen Erreger und Viren, die sie in sich tragen, nichts anhaben können.

Am Hauptbahnhof lässt die britische Künstlerin eine Fledermausgemeinschaft einen ehemaligen Kiosk besetzen. Eine Protest-Szenerie, die—ähnlich eines Tableau vivants—wirkt als sei sie mitten in Aktion eingefroren: Mit aufgeschlagenen Flügeln blicken die Fledermäuse vom Dach hinab und empfangen Besucher*innen am Kiosk. Selbstbewusst und selbstermächtigend fordern die menschengroßen Tiere Raum ein und verweisen mit einem großen Banner auf all ihre zukunftsfähigen Eigenschaften.

Bereits 2003 begann Monster Chetwynd mit Bat Opera, einer fortlaufenden Serie von Malereien, in der sie sich mit den widersprüchlichen Qualitäten von Fledermäusen auseinandersetzt. Für die Installation am Kiosk arbeitete die Künstlerin fast ausschließlich mit recyclebaren Materialien.


Festival

Die Installation The Futurology Kiosk wurde im Rahmen der Ausstellung Ruhr Ding: Klima entwickelt und war vom 22.05 - 27.06.2021 am Hauptbahnhof Recklinghausen zu sehen.


Adresse

Ehemaliger Kiosk am Hauptbahnhof, Grafenwall/Dortmunder Straße , 45657 Recklinghausen

Monster Chetwynd Künstler*in ©

Monster Chetwynd

Monster Chetwynd inszeniert Performances, Skulptur-Installationen und malt häufig Fledermäuse als Protagonist*innen in dramatischen Settings. Ihre Arbeit zeugt von spielerischer Überschwänglichkeit.