Word Count #1—8

UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2399
UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2362
UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2483
UKR Ruhrding Recklinghausen 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 2468

In a near future, scientists discover a link between constantly rising sea levels and the number of words spoken per day around the world. As a result, speech has to be radically reduced—to 433 words per person per day. In a reference to John Cage’s com-position 4'33", in which not a single note is played, the applicable law that covers this is called “Cage Law”.

In the different episodes of her film series Word Count, Kasia Fudakowski (*1985) creates a dystopian world in which the right to communication is fundamentally curtailed in order to avoid a climate disaster. Here, social and ecological climates are very tightly linked. The episodes produced since 2016 are set in various locations around the world—however, the problem of the word crunch taken to absurd levels is always the same: under constant surveillance, people must obey “Cage Law”. Additional word allowances can only be purchased at very high prices and anyone disobeying the law is punished severely.

For the Ruhr Ding: Klima, the artist has filmed a new episode in the Ruhr Area, which not only shows the social consequences of not being allowed to speak, but also the educational ones: what happens if even lectures are restricted to a certain world limit and academics are strictly monitored?

The different episodes of the Word Count series will be presented in the cubicles of the former executive washroom at the General Blumenthal Mine. Kasia Fudakowski is also presenting her work Climate Changing Room at the Silbersee II location.


Information

Due to the ongoing pandemic and the current COVID-19 regulations all art sites will remain temporarily closed. We will inform here and via all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

Admission is free.


Hours

Temporarily closed.


Address

Zeche General Blumenthal
Westcharweg 101
45659 Recklinghausen


Journey

It takes about 15 minutes by bike from the main rail-way station to the colliery. By public transport, the colliery can be reached from Recklinghausen main station by bus 214 and 270.

UKR Wandersalon 09092020 c Seidel 07 Künstler*in ©

Kasia Fudakowski

Kasia Fudakowski’s conceptual works of art follow strict, self-imposed rules, usually developed and expanded by the artist over a period of several years.

Word Count #1—8

Word Count #1-8 c Daniel Sadrowski 2399
Word Count #1-8 c Daniel Sadrowski 2362
Word Count #1-8 c Daniel Sadrowski 2483
Word Count #1-8 c Daniel Sadrowski 2468

In einer nahen Zukunft stellen Forscher*innen einen Zusammenhang zwischen dem steigenden Meeresspiegel und der Anzahl der am Tag auf der Welt gesprochenen Wörter fest. Folglich muss das Sprechen radikal beschränkt werden—auf 433 Wörter am Tag pro Person. Angelehnt an John Cages Komposition 4'33", in der kein einziger Ton gespielt wird, heißt das entsprechende Gesetz „Cage Law“.

In den verschiedenen Episoden ihrer filmischen Serie Word Count entwirft Kasia Fudakowski (*1985) eine dystopische Welt, in der zur Verhinderung der Klimakatastrophe das Recht auf Kommunikation fundamental eingeschränkt wird. Soziales und ökologisches Klima sind hier aufs Engste miteinander verbunden. Die seit 2016 entstandenen Episoden spielen an verschiedenen Orten auf der Welt, doch die Problematik der ad absurdum geführten Wortknappheit ist immer die gleiche: Unter ständiger Überwachung müssen die Menschen sich dem „Cage Law“ beugen. Zusätzliche Wortkontingente sind nur zu einem teuren Preis käuflich und wer sich nicht an das Gesetz hält, wird schwer bestraft.

Für das Ruhr Ding: Klima hat die Künstlerin in der Region eine neue Folge gedreht, in welcher nicht nur die sozialen Folgen des Nicht-Sprechen-Dürfens gezeigt werden, sondern auch die bildungspolitischen: Was, wenn selbst Vorlesungen auf eine bestimmte Wortzahl beschränkt und Akademiker*innen streng überwacht werden?

Die unterschiedlichen Episoden der Serie Word Count werden in den Kabinen des ehemaligen Waschraums der höheren Angestellten der Zeche General Blumenthal präsentiert. Am Standort Silbersee II zeigt Kasia Fudakowski außerdem die Arbeit Climate Changing Room.


Information

Aufgrund der anhaltenden pandemischen Lage und der aktuell geltenden Corona-Schutzverordnung können die Kunststandorte des Ruhr Ding: Klima nicht wie geplant eröffnen. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Der Eintritt ist frei.


Öffnungszeiten

Temporär geschlossen.


Adresse

Zeche General Blumenthal
Westcharweg 101
45659 Recklinghausen


Anfahrt

Vom Hauptbahnhof sind es rund 15 Minuten mit dem Rad zur Zeche. Mit dem ÖPNV ist die Zeche vom Hauptbahnhof Recklinghausen mit den Buslinien 214 und 270 zu erreichen.

Kasia Fudakowski Künstler*in ©

Kasia Fudakowski

Kasia Fudakowskis konzeptuelle Arbeiten folgen strengen selbstauferlegten Regeln. Meistens entwickelt und erweitert sie diese über mehrere Jahre hinweg.