Ruhr Ding: Sleep

20220922 ukr schlaf holtgreve 0120 hires

Caught in eight-hour waking and sleeping patterns, flexible working hours, body clocks and the social pressure to be non-stop available, productive and awake, sleep represents an almost resistant state – a phase of non-production and non-consumption. Yet even when resting, our bodies can be digitally measured and optimised by numerous inventions designed to help us sleep better. Sleepless nights are juxtaposed with the creative state of being rested, and fantasy worlds alternate with nightmare scenarios turned into reality. The concept of sleep is as multifaceted as the artistic examination of it. At the Ruhr Ding: Sleep 2023, numerous projects in the southern Ruhr area testify to this, and the monthly Wandersalon is warming up for this topic with discussions and readings by artists and experts.

The Ruhr Ding: Sleep marks the end of a three-part exhibition series presented throughout the region by the Urbane Künste Ruhr under Britta Peters’ artistic direction. After the Ruhr Ding: Territories 2019 and the Ruhr Ding: Climate 2021, the wandering exhibition will take place in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Essen, Witten and Gelsenkirchen in 2023, shifting back to the Ruhr area’s industrial history with the beginnings of mining. The third Ruhr Ding series shifts our focus from questions about the environment and our surroundings to the human body itself and its need for sleep as something we all share. Using art, we present reflections on our relationship to the body and time, leading to the question: How do we want to live? You can subscribe to it free of charge here.


Magazine

Magazine articles will gradually be published on our website in anticipation of Ruhr Ding: Schlaf until the next printed magazine is published in spring 2023. You can subscribe to it free of charge here.

Events


  • Fr.—Su.
    Exhibition
    5.5.— 25.6.

    Ruhr Ding: Sleep

Ruhr Ding: Schlaf

20220922 ukr schlaf holtgreve 0120 hires

Zwischen Acht-Stunden-Schlafrhythmus, flexibilisierten Arbeitszeiten, innerer Uhr und dem gesellschaftlichen Druck immer verfügbar, produktiv und wach zu sein, stellt der Schlaf als Phase des Nicht-Produktiv-Seins und des Nicht-Konsumierens einen fast schon widerständigen Zustand dar. Zugleich wird selbst der ruhende Körper digital vermessen und durch zahlreiche Erfindungen optimiert, um noch besser und erholsamer zu schlafen. Schlaflose Nächte stehen kreativer Ausgeschlafenheit gegenüber, traumhafte Fantasiewelten wechseln sich ab mit real gewordenen Albtraumszenarien. So facettenreich der Schlafbegriff, so auch die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung damit. Beim Ruhr Ding: Schlaf 2023 wird diese in zahlreichen Projekten im südlichen Ruhrgebiet zu erleben sein, schon jetzt stimmt der monatliche Wandersalon mit Gesprächsrunden und Lesungen von Künstler*innen und Expert*innen auf das Thema Schlaf ein.

Das Ruhr Ding: Schlaf bildet den Abschluss einer Ausstellungstrilogie, mit der Urbane Künste Ruhr unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Britta Peters durch das Ruhrgebiet wandert. Nach dem Ruhr Ding: Territorien 2019 und dem Ruhr Ding: Klima 2021 findet die dezentrale Ausstellung 2023 in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Essen, Witten und Gelsenkirchen statt und bewegt sich innerhalb der Industriegeschichte des Ruhrgebiets damit zurück zu den Anfängen des Bergbaus. Das dritte Ruhr Ding verschiebt den Blick von den Fragen nach Umwelt und Umgebung auf den menschlichen Körper selbst und sein Bedürfnis nach Schlaf als einer universellen Gemeinsamkeit. Mit den Mitteln der Kunst wird unser Verhältnis zum Körper und zur Zeit reflektiert und unmittelbar die Frage gestellt: Wie wollen wir leben?


Magazin

Auf unserer Website werden nach und nach Magazinbeiträge in Einstimmung auf das Ruhr Ding: Schlaf veröffentlicht, bis im Frühjahr 2023 das nächste gedruckte Magazin erscheint. Dieses könnt ihr hier kostenlos abonnieren.

Termine


  • Fr.—So.
    Ausstellung
    5.5.— 25.6.

    Ruhr Ding: Schlaf