Healing Complex (2018—ongoing)

20211022 ukr holtgreve 0119 preview
Die ehemalige Kirche St Bonifatius in Gelsenkirchen Erle Projekt Healing Complex 2018 ongoing heinrich holtgreve
20220126 ukr holtgreve 0028 hires
20211022 ukr holtgreve 0031 preview
20211022 ukr holtgreve 0274 preview

Healing Complex (2018-ongoing) is a new meeting place, initiated by artist Irena Haiduk. At the artist’s proposal, the former church of St. Bonifatius in Gelsenkirchen-Erle, which once served local miners. will be reimagined in close collaboration with locals and a broader community of stakeholders.

The history of the Ruhrgebiet is a history of migrations. The area’s diverse populations share many customs across cultures, religions and nationalities. The use of community ovens and spas is common to most. Inspired by ancient complexes that combined art and healing, Haiduk proposes to co-design a multifunctional oven powering three functions: communal baking, the making of art and recovery from everyday stresses through sauna rituals. In keeping with the artist’s attention to traditions of economic innovation, the complex will also develop its own transaction techniques rooted in non-monetary exchange and frottage imaging.

In contrast to common architectural approaches, visitors will be asked to influence the redesign of the church into a communal center. The initial exhibition period allows the ideas proposed by the artist to be tested and shaped by those who will use them. An extensive public programme will engage participants of all ages: concerts, bake-off parties, recreational offerings and hands-on workshops. A discussion series will explore international examples of art-powered economies, their social value, and educational potential.

We invite all locals, interested parties and experts from all walks of life to take direct and active part in this transformation. Together we can re-discover the building as a place of encounter and exchange that contributes to a vital social infrastructure.


Opening

The grand opening of Healing Complex will take place on Friday, 3.6. The church will be open to the public from 1 pm on that day.


Address

Ehemalige St. Bonifatiuskirche Gelsenkirche-Erle
Cranger Straße 338-342
45891 Gelsenkirchen

Events


  • Friday
    17 h
    Gelsenkirchen
    Exhibition
    3.6.

    Opening Healing Complex (2018—ongoing)

  • To kick things off, we are installing a large baking oven with a workshop area in the middle of the building. In the future, concerts, baking events, recreational activities and hands-on workshops for all ages will take place here, where baking and sauna customs can be shared across cultures, religions and nationalities.

    From 5 pm:
    Ceremonial opening with greetings and introduction to the Healing Complex by Britta Peters, Artistic Director Urbane Künste Ruhr

    From 6 pm:
    Communal baking with parallel conversation between the artist Irena Haiduk and the designer and curator Prem Krishnamurthy

    From 7 pm
    End of the evening with DJ set

    The church will be open from 1 pm.

    Other events around the opening:

    Saturday, 4.6.
    12 pm—4 pm
    Open creative workshop with children and young people

    Sunday, 5.6.
    12 pm—3 pm
    Open creative workshop with children and young people

    4 pm
    Artist talk with Irena Haiduk and Britta Peters


  • Saturday
    12—16 h
    Workshop
    4.6.

    Healing Complex: Open Creative Workshop

  • Together with experienced workshop leaders, children, young people and adult visitors can make their own kiln tiles on the opening weekend of Healing Complex and thus help to create a part of the Healing Complex itself: The tiles will be used during the exhibition period to cover the oven on site. There are also other opportunities to get creative in the Complex. The artist invites all visitors to create and produce their own currency using the frottage technique (rubbing through surfaces) and the reliefs she has designed. In addition, visitors to the Healing Complex can go in search of other unusual surfaces that will be used to create a joint frottage carpet.


  • Sunday
    16—17 h
    Artist Talk
    5.6.

    Artist Talk with Irena Haiduk and Britta Peters


  • Sunday
    12—15 h
    Workshop
    5.6.

    Healing Complex: Open Creative Workshop

  • Together with experienced workshop leaders, children, young people and adult visitors can make their own kiln tiles on the opening weekend of Healing Complex and thus help to create a part of the Healing Complex: The tiles will be used during the exhibition period to cover the oven on site. There are also other opportunities to get creative in the Complex itself. The artist invites all visitors to create and produce their own currency using the frottage technique (rubbing through surfaces) and the reliefs she has designed. In addition, visitors to the Healing Complex can go in search of other unusual surfaces that will be used to create a joint frottage carpet.

    1 Artist ©

    Irena Haiduk

    In June 2022, Irena Haiduk opens the exhibition Healing Complex (2018—ongoing) in the former church of St. Bonifatius, which is becoming a new meeting and community place in Gelsenkirchen.

Healing Complex (2018 — ongoing)

20211022 ukr holtgreve 0119 preview
Die ehemalige Kirche St Bonifatius in Gelsenkirchen Erle Projekt Healing Complex 2018 ongoing heinrich holtgreve
20220126 ukr holtgreve 0028 hires
20211022 ukr holtgreve 0031 preview
20211022 ukr holtgreve 0274 preview

Healing Complex (2018-ongoing) ist eine Begegnungsstätte, initiiert von der Künstlerin Irena Haiduk. Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts steht die ehemalige Kirche St. Bonifatius in Gelsenkirchen-Erle, deren Nutzung ausgehend von ersten Ideen der Künstlerin in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Anwohner*innen und weiteren Interessierten neu erfunden werden soll.

Die Geschichte des Ruhrgebiets ist eine Geschichte der Migrationen. Die verschiedenen Bevölkerungsgruppen der Region teilen viele Bräuche über Kulturen, Religionen und Nationalitäten hinweg. Das Betreiben von gemeinschaftlichen Öfen und Bädern ist dabei den meisten gemeinsam. Inspiriert von antiken Anlagen, die Kunst und Heilung miteinander verbanden, möchte Haiduk einen Ofen entwickeln, der drei Funktionen erfüllt: das gemeinschaftliche Backen, die Herstellung von Kunst und die Erholung vom Alltagsstress durch Saunarituale.

Die Besucher*innen sind eingeladen, an der Umgestaltung der Kirche in einen neuen gemeinschaftlichen Raum mitzuwirken. In der ersten Ausstellungsphase bis November 2022 können die Ideen der Künstlerin von denjenigen getestet und geformt werden, die den Ort künftig nutzen wollen. Ein umfangreiches öffentliches Programm aus Konzerten, Backpartys, Freizeitangeboten und Workshops richtet sich an Teilnehmer*innen aller Altersgruppen, während die begleitende Diskussionsreihe anhand internationaler Beispiele den sozialen Wert und die Möglichkeiten des gemeinsamen Lernens innerhalb künstlerischer Ökonomien erforscht.

Wir laden Anwohner*innen, Interessent*innen und Expert*innen ein, sich direkt und aktiv an der Transformation zu beteiligen. Gemeinsam können wir das ehemals leerstehende Gebäude als lebendigen Ort für Austausch und Begegnung wiederentdecken.


Eröffnung

Die feierliche Eröffnung von Healing Complex findet am Freitag, 3.6., statt. Die Kirche ist an diesem Tag ab 13 Uhr für den Publikumsverkehr geöffnet.


Adresse

Ehemalige St. Bonifatiuskirche Gelsenkirche-Erle
Cranger Straße 338-342
45891 Gelsenkirchen

Termine


  • Freitag
    17 Uhr
    Gelsenkirchen
    Ausstellung
    3.6.

    Eröffnung Healing Complex (2018—ongoing)

  • Zum Auftakt installieren wir einen großen Backofen mit einem Workshopbereich in der Mitte des Gebäudes. Hier werden zukünftig Konzerte, Backveranstaltungen, Freizeitangebote und praktische Workshops für alle Altersgruppen stattfinden, bei denen Back- und Saunabräuche über Kulturen, Religionen und Nationalitäten hinweg ausgetauscht werden können.

    Ab 17 Uhr:
    Feierliche Eröffnung mit Grußworten und Einführung in den Healing Complex durch Britta Peters, Künstlerische Leitung Urbane Künste Ruhr

    Ab 18 Uhr:
    Gemeinsames Backen mit parallel stattfindendem Gespräch zwischen der Künstlerin Irena Haiduk und dem Designer und Kurator Prem Krishnamurthy

    Ab 19 Uhr
    Ausklang mit DJ Set

    Die Kirche ist am Eröffnungstag ab 13 Uhr geöffnet.

    Weitere Veranstaltungen rund um die Eröffnung:

    Samstag, 4.6.
    12—16 Uhr
    Offener Kreativ-Workshop für Kinder und Jugendliche

    Sonntag, 5.6.
    12—15 Uhr
    Offener Kreativ-Workshop für Kinder und Jugendliche

    16 Uhr
    Künstlerinnengespräch mit Irena Haiduk und Britta Peters


  • Samstag
    12—16 Uhr
    Workshop
    4.6.

    Healing Complex: Offener Kreativ-Workshop

  • Gemeinsam mit erfahrenen Workshop-Leiterinnen können Kinder, Jugendliche und erwachsene Besucher*innen am Eröffnungswochenende von Healing Complex eigene Ofenkacheln herstellen und somit einen Teil des Healing Complex mitgestalten: Die Kacheln werden im Laufe des Ausstellungszeitraums genutzt, um den Ofen vor Ort zu verkleiden. Außerdem gibt es weitere Möglichkeiten im Complex selbst kreativ zu werden. Die Künstlerin lädt alle Besuchenden ein, mithilfe der Frottage-Technik (Durchreiben von Oberflächen) und den von ihr gestalteten Reliefs eine eigene Währung zu kreieren und herzustellen. Zusätzlich können sich die Besucher*innen im Healing Complex auf die Suche nach weiteren außergewöhnlichen Oberflächen machen, aus denen ein gemeinsamer Frottage-Teppich entsteht.


  • Sonntag
    16—17 Uhr
    Künstlergespräch
    5.6.

    Künstlerinnengespräch mit Irena Haiduk und Britta Peters


  • Sonntag
    12—15 Uhr
    Workshop
    5.6.

    Healing Complex: Offener Kreativ-Workshop

  • Gemeinsam mit erfahrenen Workshop-Leiterinnen können Kinder, Jugendliche und erwachsene Besucher*innen am Eröffnungswochenende von Healing Complex eigene Ofenkacheln herstellen und somit einen Teil des Healing Complex mitgestalten: Die Kacheln werden im Laufe des Ausstellungszeitraums genutzt, um den Ofen vor Ort zu verkleiden. Außerdem gibt es weitere Möglichkeiten im Complex selbst kreativ zu werden. Die Künstlerin lädt alle Besuchenden ein, mithilfe der Frottage-Technik (Durchreiben von Oberflächen) und den von ihr gestalteten Reliefs eine eigene Währung zu kreieren und herzustellen. Zusätzlich können sich die Besucher*innen im Healing Complex auf die Suche nach weiteren außergewöhnlichen Oberflächen machen, aus denen ein gemeinsamer Frottage-Teppich entsteht.

    1 Künstler*in ©

    Irena Haiduk

    Im Juni 2022 eröffnet Irena Haiduk die Ausstellung Healing Complex (2018—ongoing) in der ehemaligen Kirche St. Bonifatius, die zu einem Begegnungs- und Gemeinschaftsort in Gelsenkirchen wird.