BRUTOLOGY

Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 11 58
Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 05 34
Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 04 49
Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 02 30

Montserrat Gardó Castillo and Petr Hastik are currently developing the piece BRUTOLOGY at the invitation of the Emscherkunstweg. In preparation for the site-specific performance, which will be staged for the first time on 3 September 2022 on the Emscherkunstweg in Dortmund-Huckarde, four virtual road movies will take place in April.

In the online sessions, scheduled for Friday, 15 and Saturday, 16 as well as Friday, 22 and Saturday, 23 April at 8 pm each, participants can expect a virtual car ride through brutalist spaces and landscapes. In BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROADMOVIE, Montserrat Gardó Castillo & Petr Hastik will explore the rich heritage of Brutalist architecture in the Czech Republic, Catalonia and the Ruhr region. The guided journey becomes increasingly unusual: in a kind of group hypnosis, the ghosts of the past are finally summoned, the remnants of the dreams of progress, expansion and social justice that once defined the concept of Brutalism.

The sessions will be held in English. Registration at brutology@emscherkunstweg.de is required. The event is free of charge.

A production by Montserrat Gardó Castillo & Petr Hastik in co-production with FFT Düsseldorf, supported by the Kunststiftung NRW, the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste.

Events


  • Friday
    20 h
    Online Event
    Performance
    15.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROAD MOVIE

  • In the participatory Zoom session, Montserrat Gardó Castillo and Petr Hastik take participants on a tour of brutalist architecture in the Czech Republic, Catalonia and the Ruhr Region. The starting point is a guided journey that ends in a kind of group hypnosis. The ghosts of the past, the remnants of the dreams of progress, expansion and social justice that once defined the term Brutalism, are called upon. Audience members take part in an unusual car journey in which the passing vehicles, landscapes and stopovers take on new meanings.

    The session will be held in English.

    The Zoom sessions are a preparatory part of the site-specific performance Brutology, which will premiere on the Emscherkunstweg on 3 September 2022.


  • Saturday
    20 h
    Online Event
    Performance
    16.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROAD MOVIE

  • In the participatory Zoom session, Montserrat Gardó Castillo and Petr Hastik take participants on a tour of brutalist architecture in the Czech Republic, Catalonia and the Ruhr Region. The starting point is a guided journey that ends in a kind of group hypnosis. The ghosts of the past, the remnants of the dreams of progress, expansion and social justice that once defined the term Brutalism, are called upon. Audience members take part in an unusual car journey in which the passing vehicles, landscapes and stopovers take on new meanings.

    The session will be held in English.

    The Zoom sessions are a preparatory part of the site-specific performance Brutology, which will premiere on the Emscherkunstweg on 3 September 2022.


  • Friday
    20 h
    Online Event
    Performance
    22.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROAD MOVIE

  • In the participatory Zoom session, Montserrat Gardó Castillo and Petr Hastik take participants on a tour of brutalist architecture in the Czech Republic, Catalonia and the Ruhr Region. The starting point is a guided journey that ends in a kind of group hypnosis. The ghosts of the past, the remnants of the dreams of progress, expansion and social justice that once defined the term Brutalism, are called upon. Audience members take part in an unusual car journey in which the passing vehicles, landscapes and stopovers take on new meanings.

    The session will be held in English.

    The Zoom sessions are a preparatory part of the site-specific performance Brutology, which will premiere on the Emscherkunstweg on 3 September 2022.


  • Saturday
    20 h
    Online Event
    Performance
    23.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROAD MOVIE

  • In the participatory Zoom session, Montserrat Gardó Castillo and Petr Hastik take participants on a tour of brutalist architecture in the Czech Republic, Catalonia and the Ruhr Region. The starting point is a guided journey that ends in a kind of group hypnosis. The ghosts of the past, the remnants of the dreams of progress, expansion and social justice that once defined the term Brutalism, are called upon. Audience members take part in an unusual car journey in which the passing vehicles, landscapes and stopovers take on new meanings.

    The session will be held in English.

    The Zoom sessions are a preparatory part of the site-specific performance Brutology, which will premiere on the Emscherkunstweg on 3 September 2022.

BRUTOLOGY

Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 11 58
Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 05 34
Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 04 49
Screenshot 2022 02 17 at 12 02 30

Montserrat Gardó Castillo und Petr Hastik entwickeln aktuell auf Einladung des Emscherkunstweg das Stück BRUTOLOGY. In Vorbereitung auf die ortsspezifische Perfomance, die am 3. September 2022 erstmalig auf dem Emscherkunstweg in Dortmund-Huckarde aufgeführt wird, finden im April vier virtuelle Roadmovies statt.

In den Online-Sessions, die für Freitag, 15. und Samstag, 16. sowie Freitag, 22. und Samstag, 23. April jeweils um 20 Uhr terminiert sind, erwartet die Teilnehmenden eine virtuelle Autofahrt durch brutalistische Räume und Landschaften. In BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROADMOVIE widmen sich Montserrat Gardó Castillo & Petr Hastik der reichen Erbschaft der brutalistischen Architektur in Tschechien, Katalonien und im Ruhrgebiet. Die geführte Reise wird dabei immer ungewöhnlicher: In einer Art Gruppenhypnose werden schließlich die Geister der Vergangenheit gerufen, die Überbleibsel der Träume von Fortschritt, Expansion und sozialer Gerechtigkeit, die einst den Begriff des Brutalismus definierten.

Die Sessions finden auf Englisch statt. Eine Anmeldung unter brutology@emscherkunstweg.de ist notwendig. Die Veranstaltung ist kostenfrei.

Eine Produktion von Montserrat Gardó Castillo & Petr Hastik in Koproduktion mit FFT Düsseldorf, gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW, das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und das NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste.

Termine


  • Freitag
    20 Uhr
    Online Event
    Performance
    15.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROADMOVIE

  • In der partizipativen Zoom-Session nehmen Montserrat Gardó Castillo und Petr Hastik die Teilnehmer*innen mit auf eine Tour durch brutalistische Architektur in Tschechien, Katalonien und im Ruhrgebiet. Der Ausgangspunkt ist eine geführte Reise, die in einer Art Gruppenhynose mündet. Dabei werden die Geister der Vergangenheit, die Überbleibsel der Träume von Fortschritt, Expansion und sozialer Gerechtigkeit, die einst den Begriff des Brutalismus definierten, aufgerufen. Die Zuschauer*innen nehmen Teil an einer ungewöhnlichen Autofahrt, bei der die vorbeifahrenden Fahrzeuge, Landschaften und Zwischenstationen neue Bedeutungen erhalten.

    Die Session findet auf Englisch statt.

    Die Zoom-Sessions sind vorbereitender Teil der ortsspezifischen Performance Brutology, die am 3. September 2022 auf dem Emscherkunstw


  • Samstag
    20 Uhr
    Online Event
    Performance
    16.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROADMOVIE

  • In der partizipativen Zoom-Session nehmen Montserrat Gardó Castillo und Petr Hastik die Teilnehmer*innen mit auf eine Tour durch brutalistische Architektur in Tschechien, Katalonien und im Ruhrgebiet. Der Ausgangspunkt ist eine geführte Reise, die in einer Art Gruppenhynose mündet. Dabei werden die Geister der Vergangenheit, die Überbleibsel der Träume von Fortschritt, Expansion und sozialer Gerechtigkeit, die einst den Begriff des Brutalismus definierten, aufgerufen. Die Zuschauer*innen nehmen Teil an einer ungewöhnlichen Autofahrt, bei der die vorbeifahrenden Fahrzeuge, Landschaften und Zwischenstationen neue Bedeutungen erhalten.

    Die Session findet auf Englisch statt.

    Die Zoom-Sessions sind vorbereitender Teil der ortsspezifischen Performance Brutology, die am 3. September 2022 auf dem Emscherkunstw


  • Freitag
    20 Uhr
    Online Event
    Performance
    22.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROADMOVIE

  • In der partizipativen Zoom-Session nehmen Montserrat Gardó Castillo und Petr Hastik die Teilnehmer*innen mit auf eine Tour durch brutalistische Architektur in Tschechien, Katalonien und im Ruhrgebiet. Der Ausgangspunkt ist eine geführte Reise, die in einer Art Gruppenhynose mündet. Dabei werden die Geister der Vergangenheit, die Überbleibsel der Träume von Fortschritt, Expansion und sozialer Gerechtigkeit, die einst den Begriff des Brutalismus definierten, aufgerufen. Die Zuschauer*innen nehmen Teil an einer ungewöhnlichen Autofahrt, bei der die vorbeifahrenden Fahrzeuge, Landschaften und Zwischenstationen neue Bedeutungen erhalten.

    Die Session findet auf Englisch statt.

    Die Zoom-Sessions sind vorbereitender Teil der ortsspezifischen Performance Brutology, die am 3. September 2022 auf dem Emscherkunstw


  • Samstag
    20 Uhr
    Online Event
    Performance
    23.4.

    BRUTOLOGY. AN ONLINE ROADMOVIE

  • In der partizipativen Zoom-Session nehmen Montserrat Gardó Castillo und Petr Hastik die Teilnehmer*innen mit auf eine Tour durch brutalistische Architektur in Tschechien, Katalonien und im Ruhrgebiet. Der Ausgangspunkt ist eine geführte Reise, die in einer Art Gruppenhynose mündet. Dabei werden die Geister der Vergangenheit, die Überbleibsel der Träume von Fortschritt, Expansion und sozialer Gerechtigkeit, die einst den Begriff des Brutalismus definierten, aufgerufen. Die Zuschauer*innen nehmen Teil an einer ungewöhnlichen Autofahrt, bei der die vorbeifahrenden Fahrzeuge, Landschaften und Zwischenstationen neue Bedeutungen erhalten.

    Die Session findet auf Englisch statt.

    Die Zoom-Sessions sind vorbereitender Teil der ortsspezifischen Performance Brutology, die am 3. September 2022 auf dem Emscherkunstw