Landscapes of an Ongoing Past

Marta Dyachenko Floating Island

It is only through the human perspective that a piece of nature is moulded into a 'landscape'. Numerous feelings are embodied in landscapes: memories, longings and the sense of beauty, belonging and security are just as much a part of them as experiences of territorial marginalisation, loss, violence and pain.

The exhibition is conceived in loose correspondence with The Palace of Projects by the well-known artist couple Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, which has been permanently installed in the Salzlager since 2001. It shows historical and contemporary works by artists from the former socialist East, predominantly from Ukraine. Looking at the landscapes of the Ruhr region, it traces questions of industrial production and transformation and relates them associatively to the aftermath of socialist ideologies. Using all means of art, sometimes seductive, sometimes disturbing, the exhibition explores traces of unrealised utopias in the present.

An exhibition conceived by Urbane Künste Ruhr in cooperation with the Zollverein Foundation for the Ruhrtriennale 2024. The Palace of Projects is the property of the Stiftung Industriedenkmalpflege und Geschichtskultur and is on permanent loan to the Zollverein Foundation.


Info

A cooperation between Urbane Künste Ruhr and the Stiftung Zollverein for the Ruhrtriennale 2024.

Numerous workshops will take place as part of the exhibition.


Opening

Friday, 16.8. 4 pm


Accessibility

The exhibition is accessible for wheelchair users (with the exception of the Palace of Projects).

Detailed information on accessibility will be provided before the exhibition opens.


Hours

Exhibition duration

16.8.—22.9.

Wed—Sun

12—7 pm


Address

Salzlager, UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein
Heinrich-Imig-Straße 11
45141 Essen

Events


  • Sunday
    Essen
    Exhibition
    22.9.

    Finissage: Landscapes of an Ongoing Past


  • Fr.—Su.
    Essen
    Exhibition
    16.8.— 22.9.

    Landscapes of an Ongoing Past


  • Friday
    16 h
    Essen
    Exhibition
    16.8.

    Opening: Landscapes of an Ongoing Past

Landscapes of an Ongoing Past

Marta Dyachenko Floating Island

Erst durch die menschliche Perspektive wird ein Stück Natur zur ,Landschaft‘ geformt. In Landschaften verkörpern sich zahlreiche Gefühle: Erinnerungen, Sehnsüchte und die Empfindung von Schönheit, Zugehörigkeit und Geborgenheit gehören genauso dazu wie Erfahrungen von territorialer Ausgrenzung, Verlust, Gewalt und Schmerz.

Die Ausstellung ist in loser Korrespondenz mit dem seit 2001 fest im Salzlager installierten Palast der Projekte / The Palace of Projects des bekannten Künstlerpaars Ilya und Emilia Kabakov konzipiert. Sie zeigt historische und zeitgenössische Arbeiten von Künstler*innen aus dem ehemaligen sozialistischen Osten, überwiegend aus der Ukraine. Mit Blick auf die Landschaften des Ruhrgebiets spürt sie Fragen von industrieller Produktion und Transformation nach und setzt diese assoziativ zu den Nachwehen sozialistischer Ideologien in Beziehung. Mit allen Mitteln der Kunst, mal verführerisch, mal verstörend, erkundet die Ausstellung Spuren nicht verwirklichter Utopien in der Gegenwart.

Eine von Urbane Künste Ruhr in Kooperation mit der Stiftung Zollverein für das Salzlager konzipierte Ausstellung zur Ruhrtriennale 2024. The Palace of Projects ist Eigentum der Stiftung Industriedenkmalpflege und Geschichtskultur und als Dauerleihgabe im Besitz von Stiftung Zollverein.


Infos

Eine Kooperation von Urbane Künste Ruhr und der Stiftung Zollverein zur Ruhrtriennale 2024.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung finden zahlreiche Workshops statt.


Eröffnung

Freitag, 16.8. 16 Uhr


Zugänglichkeit

Die Ausstellung ist für Rollstuhlfahrer*innen zugänglich (ausgenommen ist der Palace of Projects).

Detaillierte Informationen zur Zugänglichkeit werden vor Ausstellungsbeginn zur Verfügung gestellt.


Öffnungszeiten

Ausstellungszeitraum

16.8.—22.9.

Mi—So

12—19 Uhr


Adresse

Salzlager, UNESCO-Welterbe Zollverein
Heinrich-Imig-Straße 11
45141 Essen

Termine


  • Sonntag
    Essen
    Ausstellung
    22.9.

    Finissage: Landscapes of an Ongoing Past


  • Fr.—So.
    Essen
    Ausstellung
    16.8.— 22.9.

    Landscapes of an Ongoing Past


  • Freitag
    16 Uhr
    Essen
    Ausstellung
    16.8.

    Ausstellungseröffnung: Landscapes of an Ongoing Past