Emscher Folly

Emscherkunstweg Wermers 0480

The artist Nicole Wermers has created a sculpture out of over 50 bicycles and a triangular bicycle stand she designed. She thus shifts an image familiar from urban space to a place marked by industrial work, abandoned and seemingly inhospitable, metaphorically speaking: in the engine room of everyday life between sewage plant and steelworks, the bicycles seem mysteriously out of place. Freed from their use, their design emerges all the more clearly. Close to the former mouth of the River Emscher, Emscher Folly also refers to the artificiality of a landscape as strongly shaped by man as the Emscher region.

Nicole Wermers lives and works in London and Emsdetten. She has been a professor at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich since 2017. She was a fellow of the German Academy Villa Massimo in Rome in 2012 and was nominated for the Turner Prize in 2015. In her sculptures, photographs and collages, the artist combines formal questions with investigations of urban space and its social, economic and psychological inscriptions.


Journey

Duisburg Alte Emscher sewage treatment plant, Alsumer Straße 215, 47166 Duisburg. There are only limited parking lots available on site.

Events


  • Friday
    17:30—20 h
    Duisburg
    Vernissage
    24.6.

    Opening Emscher Folly

  • Between the Duisburg Alte Emscher sewage treatment plant and the Bruckhausen steelworks, the artist Nicole Wermers (*1971) has installed the sculpture Emscher Folly on a protected wasteland. We invite you to meet the work of art and the artist at the opening with greetings, an introduction to the content and a reception.

    Programme

    Greetings by
    Edeltraut Klabuhn, Mayor of the City of Duisburg; Andrea Hankeln, Group Leader for New and Visual Arts, Literature, Participation, Regional Affairs, Memory Institutions at the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

    Roundtable discussion of the cooperation partners:
    Stefanie Reichart, Head of Department for Culture, Sport and Industrial Culture, Regionalverband Ruhr; Silke Wilts, Head of Department for Infrastructure and Events, Emschergenossenschaft; Dr. Vera Battis-Reese, Managing Director Kultur Ruhr GmbH.

    Introduction to the artwork:
    Britta Peters, Artistic Director Urbane Künste Ruhr, in conversation with Georg Elben, Director Skulpturenmuseum Marl.

    The artist will be present.

    A bus shuttle will run on the opening day and take visitors from the long-distance bus station in Duisburg to the artwork and back again.

    Bus stop:
    Fernbusbahnhof Mercatorstraße
    47051 Duisburg
    (From the main entrance of the main station turn left at the street, the bus stop is located behind the Hotel Intercity)

    Departure bus 1: 4 pm
    Departure bus 2: 4.45 pm
    (journey time between 30-45 minutes)

    Return journey to the long-distance bus station:
    Bus 1: 7.30 pm
    Bus 2: 8.15 pm

    The provisions of the Corona Protection Ordinance in force on the day of the event apply.

    The event is organised by the Emschergenossenschaft.


  • Friday
    15:45 h
    Duisburg
    Bike Tour
    24.6.

    Bike Tour to the Opening of Emscher Folly

  • Curator Marijke Lukowicz accompanies you by bike from Duisburg Central Station to the new Emscher Folly artwork. The route first leads to the work Neustadt by Julius von Bismarck and Marta Dyachenko through the Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord and then past the Alte Emscher pumping station.

    Meeting point is at 3.45 p.m. on the station forecourt at the main exit (Portsmouthplatz). A bicycle of your own is a prerequisite.

    The cycle tour is organised by the Emschergenossenschaft.

    Registration is possible until 23 June at info@emscherkunstweg.de.

Emscher Folly

Emscherkunstweg Wermers 0480

Die Künstlerin Nicole Wermers hat aus über 50 Fahrrädern und einem von ihr gestalteten Fahrradständer in Dreiecksform eine Skulptur geschaffen. Sie verschiebt damit ein aus dem urbanen Raum vertrautes Bild an einen durch Industriearbeit geprägten, verlassen und unwirtlich wirkenden Ort, metaphorisch gesprochen: in den Maschinenraum des Alltags zwischen Kläranlage und Stahlwerk wirken die Räder auf mysteriöse Art deplatziert. Von ihrer Nutzung befreit, tritt ihre Gestaltung umso deutlicher hervor. In der Nähe der ehemaligen Emschermündung verweist Emscher Folly auch auf die Künstlichkeit einer so stark vom Menschen geprägten Landschaft wie der Emscher-Region.

Nicole Wermers lebt und arbeitet in London und Emsdetten. Seit 2017 ist sie Professorin an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. Sie war u.a. 2012 Stipendiatin der Deutschen Akademie Villa Massimo in Rom und wurde 2015 für den Turner Prize nominiert. In ihren Skulpturen, Fotografien und Collagen verbindet die Künstlerin formale Fragestellungen mit Untersuchungen des urbanen Raums und seinen sozialen, ökonomischen und psychologischen Einschreibungen.


Anfahrt

Kläranlage Duisburg Alte Emscher, Alsumer Straße 215, 47166 Duisburg. Vor Ort sind nur beschränkt Parkplätze vorhanden.

Termine


  • Freitag
    17:30—20 Uhr
    Duisburg
    Vernissage
    24.6.

    Eröffnung Emscher Folly

  • Zwischen der Kläranlage Duisburg Alte Emscher und dem Stahlwerk Bruckhausen hat die Künstlerin Nicole Wermers (*1971) auf einer geschützten Brachfläche die Skulptur Emscher Folly installiert. Wir laden Euch ein, dem Kunstwerk und der Künstlerin bei der feierlichen Eröffnung mit Grußworten, inhaltlicher Einführung und Empfang zu begegnen.

    Programm

    Grußworte durch
    Edeltraut Klabuhn, Bürgermeisterin der Stadt Duisburg; Andrea Hankeln, Gruppenleiterin für Neue und visuelle Künste, Literatur, Teilhabe, Regionales, Gedächtnisinstitutionen im Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

    Gesprächsrunde der Kooperationspartner:
    Stefanie Reichart, Leiterin Referat für Kultur, Sport und Industriekultur, Regionalverband Ruhr; Silke Wilts, Abteilungsleiterin Infrastruktur und Veranstaltungen, Emschergenossenschaft; Dr. Vera Battis-Reese, Geschäftsführerin Kultur Ruhr GmbH

    Einführung zum Kunstwerk:
    Britta Peters, Künstlerische Leitung Urbane Künste Ruhr, im Gespräch mit Georg Elben, Direktor Skulpturenmuseum Marl.

    Die Künstlerin ist anwesend.

    Ein Busshuttle verkehrt am Eröffnungstag und bringt die Besucher*innen vom Fernbusbahnhof in Duisburg zum Kunstwerk und wieder zurück.

    Haltestelle:
    Fernbusbahnhof Mercatorstraße
    47051 Duisburg
    (Vom Haupteingang des Hauptbahnhofs biegen Sie an der Straße links ab, hinter dem Hotel Intercity befindet sich die Haltestelle)

    Abfahrt Bus 1: 16:00 Uhr
    Abfahrt Bus 2: 16:45 Uhr
    (Fahrtzeit zwischen 30–45 Minuten)

    Rückfahrt zum Fernbusbahnhof:
    Bus 1: 19:30 Uhr
    Bus 2: 20:15 Uhr

    Es gelten die Bestimmungen der am Veranstaltungstag aktuellen Corona-Schutzverordnung.

    Veranstalterin ist die Emschergenossenschaft.


  • Freitag
    15:45 Uhr
    Duisburg
    Radtour
    24.6.

    Geführte Radtour zur Eröffnung von Emscher Folly

  • Die Kuratorin Marijke Lukowicz begleitet Sie mit dem Fahrrad vom Duisburger Hauptbahnhof zum neuen Kunstwerk Emscher Folly. Die Route führt zunächst zum Werk Neustadt von Julius von Bismarck und Marta Dyachenko durch den Landschaftspark Duisburg Nord und dann vorbei am Pumpwerk Alte Emscher.

    Treffpunkt ist um 15.45 Uhr auf dem Bahnhofsvorplatz am Hauptausgang (Portsmouthplatz). Ein eigenes Fahrrad ist Voraussetzung.

    Veranstalterin der Radtour ist die Emschergenossenschaft.

    Eine Anmeldung ist bis zum 23.6. möglich unter info@emscherkunstweg.de.