Assembly/​ Spherical Semaphore

UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 0759
UKR Ruhrding Silbersee2 2021 c Daniel Sadrowski 0778

Floating in the middle of Silbersee is an octagonal island made of wood covered with a roof of brightly-patterned cloth that is visible from far away. The platform, where tired swimmers can rest or people can engage in conversation, revolves around its own axis, depending on the strength and direction of the wind. With Assembly, as this work by Raul Walch (*1980) is entitled, the artist has installed a place of community on the open water. The word assembly has a dual meaning: an occasion for which people come together and the montage of different components.

Further away on the lake is where the windsurfers of TuS Haltern e.V. train. In co-operation with them, Raul Walch will produce a further project: for Spherical Semaphore the artist will paint the sails of their surfboards with coloured geometric patterns that clearly contrast with the usual sporting designs. As the surfers move, the painting will appear on the water in performative form.

Working with a range of textiles, their textures and how they behave in response to various contexts has been a focus of Walch’s work as an artist for many years. His flags on civic buildings or in abandoned areas, his sails mounted on boats that are inflated by motion and wind when these move across the water as well as similar to kites and other flying constructions, are both art and research objects at the same time. He is interested not only in their aesthetic and physical properties, but also their political significance.


Information

In the wake of the ongoing pandemic, access to the Silbersee II and the Ruhr Ding: Klima artworks located there is not possible at this time. We will inform here as well as on all our communication channels as soon as the situation changes.


Entry

At the Silbersee II entrance fees are charged during the bathing season by our cooperation partner, the operating company Silbersee II Haltern am See mbH.

Regular:

4,00 €

Children under 3 years:

free

Parking fee:

4,00 €


Hours

Currently closed


Address

Silbersee II
Zum Vogelsberg
45721 Haltern am See


Journey

From Haltern-Sythen railway station it is about 15 minutes by bike to Silbersee II. By public transport, the lake can be reached by bus 273E. There are two car parks at Silbersee II, from both of which the artworks are within easy walking distance. There is an information point at the car park near Café Treibsand.

Raul Walch Künstler*in ©

Raul Walch

Driven by his political commitment, the artist not only wants to explore and comment on the world artistically, but also wishes to play an active role in shaping it.

Assembly/​ Spherical Semaphore

Silbersee Assembly c Daniel Sadrowski 0759
Silbersee Assembly c Daniel Sadrowski 0778

Mitten im Silbersee schwimmt eine achteckige Insel aus Holz, bespannt mit einem Dach aus bunt gemustertem Tuch, das von weitem zu sehen ist. Die Plattform, auf der sich müde Schwimmer*innen ausruhen können oder man zum Gespräch zusammenkommen kann, dreht sich je nach Stärke und Richtung des Winds um die eigene Achse. Mit Assembly, so der Titel dieser Arbeit von Raul Walch (*1980), installiert der Künstler einen Ort für Gemeinschaft auf dem offenen Wasser. Assembly bedeutet im Englischen Versammlung, kann aber ebenso für Montage oder Zusammenbau stehen.

Hinten auf dem See trainieren unterdessen die Windsurfer*innen des TuS Haltern e.V.. In Kooperation mit ihnen realisiert Raul Walch ein weiteres Projekt: Für Spherical Semaphore bemalt der Künstler die Segel ihrer Surfbretter mit farbigen geometrischen Mustern, die in einem deutlichen Gegensatz zum üblichen Sportdesign stehen. Mit der Bewegung der Surfer*innen kommt die Malerei in performativer Form aufs Wasser.

Die Beschäftigung mit verschiedenen Textilien, ihrer Stofflichkeit und wie sich diese in verschiedenen Kontexten verhalten, gehört seit Jahren zu den Schwerpunkten von Walchs künstlerischer Arbeit. Seine Flaggen an städtischen Gebäuden oder in verlassenen Gebieten, die Segel von Booten, welche sich beim Fahren auf dem Wasser durch Bewegung und Wind aufblasen, ebenso wie Drachen und andere fliegende Konstruktionen sind Forschungs- und Kunstobjekte zugleich. Nicht nur die ästhetischen und physikalischen Eigenschaften interessieren ihn, sondern auch ihre politische Bedeutung.


Information

Aufgrund der anhaltenden pandemischen Lage und der aktuell geltenden Corona-Schutzverordnung können die Kunststandorte des Ruhr Ding: Klima nicht wie geplant eröffnen. Wir informieren hier sowie auf all unseren Kommunikationskanälen, sobald sich die Situation ändert.


Eintritt

Am Silbersee II fallen von Seiten unseres Kooperationspartners, der Betreibergesellschaft Silbersee II Haltern am See mbH, während der Badesaison Eintrittsgebühren an.

Regulär:

4,00 €

Kinder unter 3 Jahren:

frei

Parkplatzgebühr:

4,00 €


Öffnungszeiten

Aktuell geschlossen


Adresse

Silbersee II
Zum Vogelsberg
45721 Haltern am See


Anfahrt

Vom Bahnhof Haltern-Sythen sind es rund 15 Minuten mit dem Rad zum Silbersee II. Mit ÖPNV ist der See mit dem Bus 273E zu erreichen. Am Silbersee II sind zwei Parkplätze vorhanden, von beiden sind die Kunstwerke fußläufig gut zu erreichen. Am Parkplatz nahe des Café Treibsand befindet sich ein Infopoint zum Ruhr Ding: Klima.

Raul Walch Künstler*in ©

Raul Walch

Zu Walchs Arbeiten gehören seit Jahren mit bunten Mustern gestaltete Segelboote, Mobiles, Drachen und Fahnen, sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit deren Verhalten im Wind.