Reflecting Landscape in Dreams

Ycam filmstill kjazbec 10
Ycam filmstill kjazbec 17
Ycam filmstill kjazbec 12

How does the landscape of our surroundings inscribe itself in our memory and how does it show up in our nightly dreams?

The experiences of the day inscribe themselves in our bodies: physical labour, feelings of boredom, rejection and lack of freedom are just as much a part of this as joie de vivre, lust and sporting energy. Taking the post-industrial landscapes of the Ruhr as a starting point, Slovenian artist Katarina Jazbec explores the relationship between dreams and everyday life in the research for her new film project. In cinematic portraits of the relationship between people and nature in the region, she wants to trace the hidden narratives of past and present. A special focus is on the ability to foresee situations in dreams, to process them or to reinvent them for the future.

As part of the Wandersalon #31 at Filmtheater Rio, Katarina Jazbec will screen the short films You Can't Automate Me (2021) and Permeating Hearts (2018) and provide insights into her current research for Ruhr Ding: Schlaf in 2023.

Films:

You Can't Automate Me (2021), 21 min.
Before the container ships leave the port of Rotterdam, they have to be secured by dock workers with heavy metal bars. Surrounded by huge cranes and self-propelled vehicles, Katarina Jazbec portrays the intense activity of the workers and lets them talk about their experiences through their bodies.

Permeating Hearts (2018), 23 min.
This documentary follows a group of male inmates in a Belgian prison as they read short stories together over two months. What can we learn about the inmates, about ourselves and about social structures through reading fiction?


About the talk

The talk will be in English language.


Films

OmE


Entry

The event will be held in compliance with the 3G regulation. Please bring your relevant proof of vaccination or recovery or test certificates with you. There is an obligation to wear an FFP2 mask.


Hours

Wed 30.3.22

8 pm (entry 7.30 pm)


Address

Rio Filmtheater im Medienhaus
Viktoriastraße 17
45468 Mülheim an der Ruhr

preview Video

Events


  • Wednesday
    20 h
    Mülheim an der Ruhr
    Wandersalon
    30.3.

    Reflecting Landscape in Dreams

  • Artist ©

    Katarina Jazbec

    Katarina Jazbec expands the media of film and photography through interdisciplinary and collaborative strategies and tools to question and expand their narrative possibilities.

Reflecting Landscape in Dreams

Ycam filmstill kjazbec 10
Ycam filmstill kjazbec 17
Ycam filmstill kjazbec 12

Wie schreibt sich die Landschaft unserer Umgebung in unser Gedächtnis ein und wie zeigt sie sich in unseren nächtlichen Träumen?

Die Erlebnisse des Tages schreiben sich in unsere Körper ein: Körperliche Arbeit, Gefühle von Langeweile, Ablehnung und Unfreiheit gehören genauso dazu wie Lebensfreude, Lust und sportliche Energie. Ausgehend von den postindustriellen Landschaften des Ruhrgebiets beschäftigt sich die slowenische Künstlerin Katarina Jazbec in den Recherchen zu ihrem neuen Filmprojekt mit der Beziehung zwischen Traum und Alltag. In filmischen Portraits über die Beziehung von Mensch und Natur in der Region möchte sie den verborgenen Erzählungen von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart nachspüren. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf der Fähigkeit, Situationen im Traum vorauszusehen, zu verarbeiten oder für die Zukunft neu zu erfinden.

Im Rahmen des Wandersalons #31 im Filmtheater Rio zeigt Katarina Jazbec die Kurzfilme You Can’t Automate Me (2021) und Permeating Hearts (2018) und gibt Einblicke in ihre aktuellen Recherchen für das Ruhr Ding: Schlaf in 2023.

Filme:

You Can’t Automate Me (2021), 21 Min.
Bevor die Container-Schiffe den Hafen von Rotterdam verlassen, müssen sie von Hafenarbeitern mit schweren Metallstangen gesichert werden. Umgeben von riesigen Kränen und selbstfahrenden Fahrzeugen portraitiert Katarina Jazbec die intensive Tätigkeit der Arbeiter und lässt sie über ihre Körper von ihren Erfahrungen berichten.

Permeating Hearts (2018), 23 Min.
Die Dokumentation begleitet eine Gruppe von männlichen Insassen eines belgischen Gefängnisses, die über zwei Monate gemeinsam Kurzgeschichten lesen. Was können wir über das Lesen von Fiktion über die Insassen, über uns und über gesellschaftliche Strukturen erfahren?


Zum Gespräch

Das Künstlerinnengespräch ist in englischer Sprache.


Filme

OmE


Eintritt

Die Veranstaltung findet unter Einhaltung der 3G-Regelung statt. Bitte bringen Sie Ihre entsprechenden Impf-, Genesenen- oder Test-Nachweise mit. Es besteht die Pflicht zum Tragen einer FFP2-Maske.


Öffnungszeiten

Mi 30.3.22

20 Uhr (Einlass 19.30 Uhr)


Adresse

Rio Filmtheater im Medienhaus
Viktoriastraße 17
45468 Mülheim an der Ruhr

preview Video

Termine


  • Mittwoch
    20 Uhr
    Mülheim an der Ruhr
    Wandersalon
    30.3.

    Reflecting Landscape in Dreams

  • Künstler*in ©

    Katarina Jazbec

    Katarina Jazbec erweitert die Medien Film und Photographie durch interdisziplinäre sowie kollaborative Strategien und Werkzeuge, um ihre narrativen Möglichkeiten zu hinterfragen und zu erweitern.